Home About Us Islamic Glossary Order Books Qibla Location Links Question and Contact
Īmān and Islam (Correct faith)  >  Īmān and Islam  >  Ten essentials of Islam

Text size      Print
Ten essentials of Islam

It is stated in a hadīth-i sharīf quoted by Tabarānī that those who do not observe any of the following ten essentials of Islam are in a state of a loss:

1. Saying “Lā ilāha ill-Allah Muhammadun Rasūl-Allah”
In order to become a Muslim, it is necessary to say this Kalimat at-tawhīd with a heartfelt belief in it. When one becomes a Muslim, it will primarily be fard [obligatory] for one to know and believe in the meaning of the phrase “Lā ilāha ill-Allah Muhammadun Rasūl-Allah.” This phrase is called Kalimat at-tawhīd. The brief meaning of it: There is no ilāh except Allah, and Muhammad (‘alaihis-salām) is His Prophet. Belief in the Prophet of Allah means to accept, believe, and approve all of what he communicated.

It is declared in hadīth-i sharīfs:
(Of the deeds, the valuable one is saying “Lā ilāha ill-Allah.”) [Hākim]

(Renew your īmān by saying “Lā ilāha ill-Allah” many times.) [Tabarānī]

(A person who says “Lā ilāha ill-Allah” attains salvation from predicaments and afflictions.) [Bazzār]

2. Keeping up five daily namāzes
Those who perform namāzes correctly are considered to express their gratitude for all the countless blessings of Allahu ta’ālā. As the saying goes, “Namāz embraces all kinds of gratitude.” It is the pillar of the religion, so people who ignore it will have torn down their religion. It is purported in the Qur’ān al-karīm:
(The rewards of those are with their Rabb who believe and do righteous deeds, perform namāz and give zakāt. They will have no fear, nor will they suffer sorrows.) [Sūrat-ul-Baqara 277]

3. Giving zakāt
Zakāt has been commanded with namāz in many verses of the Qur’ān al-karīm. The following is declared in hadīth-i sharīfs:
(Let him who believes in Allah and His Messenger give the zakāt of his property.) [Tabarānī]

(You reach perfectness in your states of being Muslims by giving zakāt.) [Bazzār]

(Allah curses him who does not give the zakāt of his property.) [Nasāī]

4. Fasting
It is fard [obligatory] to fast every day of the month of Ramadān (Sūrat-ul-Baqara 185).

The following hadīth-i sharīfs state:
(He who fasts is my friend; he who does not fast is my enemy.) [Bayhaqī]

(He who dies after fasting in the month of Ramadān will go to Paradise.) [Daylamī]

(If a person does not fast one day in Ramadān, he cannot receive the thawāb of this one day even if he fasts all the year round instead of it.) [Tirmudhī]

5. Performing the hajj [major pilgrimage]
For people who have money enough to go to and come back from the blessed city of Mecca besides the property sufficient for the subsistence of their family they leave behind until they come back, it is fard to perform tawāf around the Ka’ba and to perform waqfa on the plain of ‘Arafāt once in their lifetimes. It is purported in the Qur’ān al-karīm:
(Pilgrimage to the Baitullah [the House of Allah] is Allah’s right upon those who are able to journey there.) [Sūrat-u Āl-i ‘Imrān 97]

It is reported in hadīth-i sharīfs:
(All the sins of a person whose hajj has been accepted are forgiven.) [Bayhaqī]

(The thawāb given for the property spent on the way of hajj is seven hundred times as much of it.) [Bayhaqī]

(If a person dies on the way to Makka for hajj or on the way back, scales will not be set up for him in the next world. He will not be called to account, and all his sins will be forgiven.)

6. Performing jihād
It is an important act of worship. It is purported in the Qur’ān al-karīm
(Perform jihād in the way of Allah, so that you attain salvation.) [Sūrat-ul-Māida 35]

It is declared in hadīth-i sharīfs:
(The most valuable deed is performing jihād.) [Tabarānī]

(The highest of people is the one who performs jihād with his life and property.) [I. Ahmad]

(The most virtuous jihād is performing the fards [obligatory acts of worship].) [Tabarānī]

7. Amr-i ma’rūf
It means to enjoin and spread what is good. A hadīth-i sharīf reads:
(He who does not enjoin what is good and does not forbid what is evil when he is able to do so is not in our community.) [Tirmudhī]

8. Nahy-i munkar
It means to forbid what is evil. It is declared in a hadīth-i sharīf:
(The mujāhid higher than a martyr is the one who enjoins what is good and forbids what is evil.) [I. Ghazālī]

(Mujāhid is a person who engages in jihād.)

9. Joining the jamā’ah
Jamā’ah [the community of Muslims] brings about Allah’s Compassion; separation from jamā’ah brings about His Torment. A hadīth-i sharīf reads:
(He who separates from the jamā’ah falls flat on his face into Hell.) [Tabarānī]

10. Tā’at
They are actions that Allahu ta’ālā likes. A Muslim who practises them receives thawāb. On the other hand, a person who does not do any deeds that Allahu ta’ālā likes will certainly suffer a great loss.

It is purported in the Qur’ān al-karīm:
(Make dhikr of Me [by doing tā’at], and I, too, will make dhikr of you [with My Compassion].) [Sūrat-ul-Baqara 152]

A hadīth-i sharīf, too, reads:
(Allahu ta’ālā does not love a person who is in negligence of carrying out tā’at.) [Daylamī]

Date of Update
26 Mayżs 2024 Pazar
All the materials on our website have been prepared for the benefit of all people.
Therefore, everybody is allowed to get benefit from them as they wish without submitting a
request for permission on condition that they will be faithful to their original forms.
Set as Homepage   |    Add to Favorites   |   Share Share
Number of Visitors

Hosted by Ihlas Net